Tourist Information

Other prehistoric finds in the area date from the end of the last glacial maximum to the Neolithic. On some hilltops, sturdy stone walls mark the places where Bronze and Iron Age villages (castellieri)  were built, controlling the access to the valleys. Just before the Roman Empire arrived in this part of Italy, about two centuries BC, a population called the Arusnates, now believed to be of Etruscan origin, made Fumane the capital of their Pagus, as testified by many funerary or celebratory inscriptions on dismantled monuments found over the centuries and now conserved in local museums. A roman villa (1st - 5th Century AD) lies under a vineyard just south of the town.
The Middle Ages are represented here mostly by surviving place-names, as buildings and other structures were incorporated in later churches, villas and monasteries, such as the church of Santa Maria del Degnano in Fumane,12th century, and San Marziale in the neighbourhood of Breonio, 13th century, both modernized in the 16th and 17th centuries.
During the Renaissance period many rich Veronese merchants and aristocrats built their country residences in Valpolicella. Villa della Torre (16th Century), on the outskirts of Fumane, is one of the most notable examples in Northern Italy of the surge of interest in Classical scholarship and values typical to this period.

Nowadays Fumane and its territory is a popular tourist destination for many other reasons: cool summer walks along the streams in deeply cut valleys; the fantastic Waterfall Park in Molina; wine tasting in the many wineries that produce Valpolicella Classico, Amarone and Recioto. The ever-growing hospitality sector - common to all the Valpolicella area - makes Fumane an interesting alternative or addition to a holiday in Verona or on Lake Garda.


The territory of Valpolicella extends over 240 km2  of land and is located in northwest of Verona. Rich in culture and in wine and food, its borders are: the Western Pre_Alps to the north, the Adige River to the South, the Valdadige Valley to the west. Valpolicella is composed of the following municipalities: San Pietro in Cariano, Fumane, Negrar, Marano di Valpolicella, Sant’Ambrogio di Valpolicella, Sant’Anna d’Alfedo, Dolcè e Pescantina.

A map of Valpolicella can be downloaded here.